My “dream” vacation

image

This really struck a chord with me. I’ve been kind of down the past few weeks because my siblings were planning and invited me on what was my ‘dream vacation’. One I’ve talked about wanted to do with my boys since they were babies. And now, we can’t.
My dream vacation was to relive an annual trip I made with my dad into the Boundary Waters Canoe Area in northern Minnesota. We would pack up the pick up, drive many miles down a dirt road, until we got to a certain river.  Then we’d unload the truck and carefully pack it all into the canoe and take off, knowing there’d be a portage ahead of us.  We’d finally make it to the lake, where we’d continue paddling until we got to the spot he wanted to camp. I say “he wanted to camp” because by the time we’d get to the lake, I’d be so tired of paddling and being in the canoe that the first spot looked perfect to me! It was as rustic of a camping trip as you can make.  No motors or anything allowed.  Everything you packed in, you had to pack back out.  We would fish, cook over the campfire, make s’mores all weekend, then load up and paddle back to the pick up, where I’d sleep the entire drive home. A trip my camping/hunting/fishing boys would have absolutely loved!  But, not a trip for a wheelchair or a toddler. So, therefore, no longer a trip for us.

I have got to quit being bummed about this and find something that we Can do.  Who knows? Maybe someday that trip will be possible, but, for now, it’s not doing anyone any good for me to sit around pouting because we can’t.

By the way, my older siblings have decided against that trip and are now renting a lake house for a weekend.  We still aren’t going, too many miles away right in the middle of one of my busiest months of the year. Plus, none of them have little ones – their kids are all adult, most with kids of their own, and it really hasn’t sounded like little ones were included in the invitation to join them.

Leave a Reply

