I will never buy another Singer sewing machine!!!!!!!!

For Christmas last year, my husband got me a new singer sewing machine. My old singer had finally kicked the bucket.  Actually, I had been having problems with it for quite a while, but, it was an easy fix, just irritating – the bobbin would pop out of place.  It had been getting worse, and to the point of being lucky to finish a seam before I’d have to fix it again.

I found a singer for under $100. and asked him to get me that one. I don’t sew a lot, just personal use.  Instead, he did some looking and upgraded from the one I found.  This one was labeled as “heavy duty!”  It also claims to have an “easy 1 step buttonhole!”  Easy, my a$$!!!!!!!  I have yet to get it to make a decent buttonhole!!!  And heavy duty?  No WAY!!!!  Get a couple layers of cotton, in with a layer of ruffle, and it doesn’t go over it very easily, I wouldn’t dare try denim on it, like the ad said!

It didn’t take too long to start having problems. The bobbin pops out of place and jams everything up.  Everything I have found says to take a brush and clean it.  I do that.  You have to unscrew two little screws to open it up to get to the bobbin case, because believe me, you can’t just clean the area where you drop the bobbin!   It is getting to the point of ridiculous!!!  I am working on a dress for munchkin, and a matching one for her baby doll.  I am now on the 4th time of it messing up and jamming completely!!!!!  I have only had it 8 months!!

Leave a Reply

